Two Academic Department Chairs Named in the College of Arts and Sciences at Fayetteville State University

Dr. Ji Young Kim, Associate Professor, has been named as Chair of the Department of English at Fayetteville State University (FSU). Joining the faculty at FSU in 2002, she has served as Interim Chair of English (2016-2017); Assistant Chair (2013-2016); Assessment Coordinator (2011-2016); Director of Composition (2012-2016) and TESOL Coordinator (2005-2017) at FSU.

Kim has a strong and diverse record of service to the university and collaboration with other departments and other universities: Faculty Advisor for Language Research Society, a student research group in 2016; Proyecta 100,000 ESL Summer Institute (funded by PROYECTA) in 2014; Educator Online pilot evaluator in 2012; Faculty advisor for Chesnutt Club in 2011; UNC-China Project, a state funded program in 2010; Assessment Coordinator for the university’s Reading Across the Curriculum program, a Title II grant-funded program during 2008-2012 and Quality Educators’ Academy, an NCQUEST grant funded teacher education program in 2007 and 2008.

As TESOL Coordinator, she has designed an ESL Add-On Licensure program and created new courses and collaborated with the School of Education to establish a new TESL minor within the English department. As interim chair in the Department of English, she created a Pre-Law Concentration as well as a Pre-Law minor and certificate programs in 2016.

Kim was named a 2016 recipient of FSU Teacher of the Year and was the first FSU professor to receive the UNC-China Technology Learning Grant in 2010. She holds a bachelor‘s degree from the University of Seoul, a master’s and a Ph.D. degrees from the University of Mississippi.

Dr. Joe M. Brown has been named Chair of the Department of Criminal Justice. Brown has been serving as Interim Chair since March 2016. From July 2015 to February 2016, he served as Assistant Chair of the Department of Criminal Justice. Brown joined FSU in 2007 as a Criminal Justice Instructor in the Department of Criminal Justice.

Brown holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Southern Mississippi, and a Master’s and a Ph.D. degrees from Prairie View A & M. University. Prior to becoming a member of the FSU faculty, Brown worked for 25 years at the Texas Department of Criminal Justice Parole Division (TDCJ). While employed with TDCJ, he held various positions beginning from the ground as a Parole Caseworker and retiring as the Assistant Regional Director of the Southeast Texas area.

For more information, please contact Dr. Samuel Adu-Mireku, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, at 910-672-2127 or